Prize Giving Ceremony 2018

The first WeCode24 prize-giving ceremony was held on Saturday, the 19th of January 2019, at Klein Nederburg Secondary School in Paarl. The aim of the event was to honour the learners’ commitment in completing the 2018 WeCode24 programme, and to acknowledge their accomplishments for the year. They attended the prestigious event with their parents and teachers.

All of the successful learners received a certificate for completing the Introduction to Programming: Graphics, Games and Embedded Systems course. The prize winners all received a Raspberry Pi computer, and the top learners also received peripherals.

In third place: Jaylen Juries, Thorne Myburgh and Marc Mia
In second place: Takudzwa Chiso, Ethan Hofsta and Samantha Stipps
In first place: Meliuethu Sibanda, Theon Thomas and Jarred Williams

These learners showed great enthusiasm and commitment throughout the year, congratulations!

HackFest 2018

On 21 July we hosted a HackFest event at Bernadino Heights High School in Kraaifontein. It was a playful celebration of empowerment through technology that took the form of a hands-on expo, with exhibitors inviting everyone into the marvellous world of programming. Moving beyond just exhibiting something interesting that was programmed, it was about making it accessible, and opening everyone’s eyes to the possibilities.

…Continue Reading →

Coding Day 2018

We held a Coding Day event on 03 February for learners from the schools that are part of the programme this year, at Stellenbosch University’s Fharga computer lab. It served to introduce the learners to programming, and served as an opportunity to select about 100 learners to be part of the programme: the selection process considered many factors, especially the learner’s passion for learning to program and create. The day was a great success, and we are all very excited about the year ahead. The learners had a tremendous amount of fun, and would hardly stop programming to break for snacks and lunch!

Thank you very much to the support team who assisted with the selection process, and to Stellenbosch University and the Fharga staff for their facilities and support.